14:38 - 25th November 2012, by David West

Winners Of The 6th Asia Pacific Screen Awards

The 6th Annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards took place at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre in Brisbane, Australia this week.

Awards and High Commendations went to films from countries across the Asia Pacific region including Turkey, India, Indonesia, Iraqi-Kurdistan, Israel, Japan, People's Republic of China, Philippines, Republic of Korea and Taiwan, and for the first time, Iraq.

Best Feature Film went to Beyond The Hill written and directed by Emin Alper.

The International Jury gave a High Commendation in the category of Best Feature Film to Nameless Gangster: Rules Of Time from South Korea, directed by Yoon Jong-bin.

Turkish writer/director Reis Çelik collected the award for Best Screenplay for Night Of Silence and the award for Achievement in Cinematography went to Touraj Aslani for Bahman Ghobadi's Rhino Season.

Thy Womb, from the Philippines, took home two awards with the Achievement in Directing prize going to Brillante Ma. Mendoza and Best Performance by an Actress going to Nora Aunor.

In the category of Achievement in Directing, Cheng Er received the High Commendation for his film Lethal Hostage, which we covered back in August.

Darya Ekamasova received a High Commendation in the Best Performance by an Actress category, for her role in the Russian film Once Upon A Time There Lived A Simple Woman.

Winner of Best Performance by an Actor went to South Korea's powerhouse Choi Min-sik for Nameless Gangster: Rules Of Time, while in the same category a High Commendation was awarded to Israeli actor Lior Ashkenazi for Footnote.

The APSA International Jury awarded two Screen International Jury Grand Prizes.

The first went to writer/director/producer Anurag Kashyap from India for his film Gangs Of Wasseypur.

The second was awarded to Korean actress Cho Min-soo was awarded for her performance in Kim Ki-duk's Pieta.

A High Commendation was also awarded by the Jury for the film Footnote for its screenplay by Joseph Cedar.

For the first time, a film from Iraq won an APSA, with In My Mother's Arms receiving the Best Documentary Feature Film Award.

A High Commendation for Best Documentary Feature Film was awarded to Planet Of Snail.

Best Animated Feature Film was awarded to Production IG's A Letter To Momo.

The Mirror Never Lies from Indonesia won the Best Children's Feature Film.

Japanese composer, actor and musician Ryuichi Sakamoto was the recipient of the 2012 APSA FIAPF award for Outstanding Achievement in Film in the Asia Pacific region.

The UNESCO Award for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of cultural diversity through film went to director Wei Te-sheng and producers John Woo, Terence Chang and Jimmy Huang for their Taiwanese film Warriors Of The Rainbow: Seediq Bale.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Issue 169, on sale now!

Uncooked Media
© 2018
Uncooked Media Ltd
PO Box 6337,
Reg: 04750336